<u>M E M O R A N D U M</u>

TO: UAH Faculty, Staff and Students

FROM: Robert A. Altenkirch, President

DATE: November 19, 2013

SUBJECT: Appointment of Dean of the College of Science Search Committee

Dean Jack Fix has announced his retirement, and a Search Committee has been formed to identify candidates who might serve as Dean of the College of Science. The Search Committee to screen nominations and applications and make recommendations regarding appointment of a Dean of the College of Science will be chaired by Caron St. John. Search Committee members in addition to Caron include:

John Christy, Distinguished Professor, Department of Atmospheric Science, and Director, Earth System Science Center

Leland Cseke, Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences

Sampson Gholston, Associate Professor, Department of Industrial & Systems Engineering and Engineering Management

Don Gregory, Professor, Department of Physics

John Gregory, Professor, Department of Chemistry

Rob Griffin, Assistant Professor, Department of Atmospheric Science

Jacob Heerikhuisen, Assistant Professor, Department of Space Science

Nick Jones, Assistant Professor, Department of Philosophy

Debra Moriarity, Professor and Chair, Department of Biological Sciences

Heggere Ranganath, Professor and Chair, Department of Computer Science

Carmen Scholz, Professor, Department of Chemistry

Maria Torres, Student, Department of Chemistry

Thanks,

Bob